> Mon, Apr 22, 2024 • 5:44 PM

We went to his hometown on Thursday and booked a hotel room so he wouldn't have to wake up early and rush all the way back down there the next day. Just wanted to get up, get dressed, and go to his grandfather's funeral without any hassle or risk of anything going wrong.
For lack of anything better to do at like 10 at night, after he visited his mom and brother, we took a walk in his childhood neighborhood. He pointed out houses and streets to me, recalled memories. I didn't meet him until I was like 18, so I never got to see any of this before.
I want to show him the places where I grew up as well and the things I did, but that's a much longer drive and we wouldn't have anywhere to stay down there, so we'll have to leave early for that kind of thing.

We went to the funeral Friday morning. I tried to emotionally support him in the ways I could.
He described it to me before, but I witnessed firsthand the divide between him and the rest of his family. Aside from one cousin who kept around us, his mother, and another cousin who talked to us once or twice and introduced herself to us, no one else even really approached us. They also didn't even acknowledge his grandfather (alongside his grandmother) essentially raising him and his brother. You would think that would at least be worth a mention, but they didn't.
The speaker for the funeral also annoyed us both because he spent half of the service proselytizing and asking people to dedicate themselves to Jesus instead of just... talking about the life of his grandfather. I understand saying a prayer, talking about how his soul was with God now, and things like that, but actively asking people to dedicate themselves to a religion immensely rubbed me the wrong way. It's a funeral service, not a church service.
He said his grandmother's funeral was even worse about that, and his grandfather chewed them out for the same reason.

After he had some words with his family at the burial plot, we ate at a little restaurant with his family, and then went to Mario's to get some drinks.
His friend and cousin met up with us. We just talked and reminisced on random things.

On the way back, we almost got hit by two stupid assholes on the highway doing stupid asshole shit.
One sped aroud him and cut in front of us from a closed road work lane, narrowly missing us. Our stretch of the road, mind you, was empty aside from us. The road work section was short, as well.
And then another mentally-challenged genetic abomination cut in front of us from the right, from the emergency lane, narrowly missing us. Again, with an otherwise empty stretch of road. Because... dipshit reasons I guess.
I don't understand the logic of these kinds of people. You want to get somewhere 0.002 seconds faster, so you find it worth risking a major accident, which would completely disable you from making it to your destination anyway.
Is it meth, being dropped on the head as a baby, or a converging family tree? Who knows. Maybe it's all three. Surprise!

We went to a game store / arcade on Saturday. Unfortunately, it was closing in like 30 minutes, so we didn't go to the arcade portion, but he said we'd return early one day when he had time. I also looked for a copy of my favorite videogame there, but they didn't have it. I don't even own an NES or one of those modern consoles capable of playing NES carts anymore, but I'd still like to own it for the sake of owning it.

I also need to get new shoes before his upcoming event at his lodge. The ones I got are veritable torture devices, and I didn't realize just how needle-thin the heels are. I'm getting old and I've gained weight. I'm not 22 anymore. I need chunky heels or flats.

But I'm hopping off of this. I've recapped enough for now.

The Surrealist: Echo End